The Most Tragic Lesson

source:http://tinybuddha.com/blog/healing-heartbreak-lessen-pain/

You showed me the light but only for the night.

Yet you focus only on the finish when you haven’t even begun?

I’ve been tossing and turning every night, staring at the ceiling just imagining your smile.

Tell me that you miss me and maybe I won’t be sorry, for not making the time for the things you ask of me.

Blind hearts, twisted fantasies should I come or should you, I can’t sleep tonight.

Is it fine if I smile at him while you smile at her, I can’t speak tonight.

Just make me feel special and make me feel loved, you were so good at that, lately I’ve just been numb.

Let me kiss you to take away the pain and erase the past.

I don’t want you to get tired of my love.

If I let you in would you let me in, maybe I‘ll just say goodbye and leave.

Don’t worry I love how you stare at me with those hazel eyes.

I stay because I’m scared to leave. I’m not prepared to never see that sly smirk again. It would just not be right. I need you in my life.

So don’t make me, don’t make me go, please just don’t do it.

In a place I’ve never been, hit me three times maybe it won’t show, I need sleep tonight.

But you will be in my dreams tonight though.

 

 

I emulated this poem from one of my favorite songs, Ilusm by Gnash. I wrote this because I was listening to this song one afternoon and became very inspired by the lyrics, they were very relatable. This poem is about a person from my past.

“You showed me the light but only for the night.” This is one of my favorite lines because for me this is describing how amazing and special this person made me feel, but how this was only for a short while. They were able to show me something so great that even when it shouldn’t exist it was able to, hence the light at night.

Ultimately this poem is about a love that would never work out. The person and I’s circumstances would never allow us to be together. In this poem I was also trying to show the unrealistic expectations on how easy love is to find and maintain. In the media we see love portrayed as easy and very desirable which I believe contributes to our naivety to the difficulties that come with falling in love. We have been taught that if we fall in love, that it was meant to be and we should be prepared to do anything and everything to stay together. This is not true, love is not always meant to be, which I learned can be more heartbreaking than falling out of love.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *